The Lost Thing | Oscar® Nominated Short Film

Warning: Illegal string offset 'custom_page_theme_template' in /storage/content/27/2008927/ on line 345

Watch this year’s Oscar® Nominated Short Films in every category before the 83rd Academy Awards® ceremony on February 27th.


A boy discovers a bizarre looking creature while out collecting bottle tops at the beach. Realising it is lost, he tries to find out who owns it or where it belongs, but is met with indifference from everyone else, who barely notice its presence, each unwilling to entertain this uninvited interruption to their day to day lives. For reasons he does not explain, the boy empathises with the creature, and sets out to find a ‘place’ for it.

Visit the official website:


Directed by Andrew Ruhemann & Shaun Tan
Produced by Sophie Byrne
Narrated by Tim Minchin
Animation: Leo Baker
Lead CG Artist: Tom Bryant
Music: Michael Yezerski
Sound Design: John Kassab
Production Design & Art Direction: Shaun Tan
Storyboarding: Shaun Tan
Pre Visualisation: Leo Baker
Script / Storyboarding Editor: Polly Watkins
Modelling, Texture / Lighting Lead: Tom Bryant
Rigging: Leo Baker
Secondary Rigging: Phil Jennings, Halo Pictures
Lighting & Compositing: Tom Bryant, Steve Evans, Leo Baker
Offline Editor: Leo Baker
Supervising Sound Editor: John Kassab
Foley Artist / Sound Editor: Adrian Medhurst
Foley Engineer / Sound Editor: Daniel Varricchio
Sound Effects Recordist: Bart Bee
Guitarist: Damian de Boos-Smith
Legal Advisor: Julia Adams Shiff & Company
Post Production Mix Facility: Music and Effects
Facility Liason: Cassi Barlee
Mixer: Doron Kipen
Narration Recordist: Brendan Croxon & Pepper Post (UK)
Post Production: Digital Pictures
Head ofPost Production: Rachel Knowels
Post Production Producer: Carol Johnston
Colourist: Brett Manson
Online Mastering: Eugene Richards, George Awburn
Early Development Passion Pictures UK
Bart Boirot, Antoine Molineau, Sharon Smith, Chris Knott, Jamie Foord, Emma Phillips, Jason Nicolas
Special Thanks:
The Foundry, Rising Sun Research, Adobe Creative Suite, Kevan O’Brian, Jill Bilcock, Halo Pictures, Geoff Clowe, Richard Brennan, Mike Cowap, Nick Batzias, Martin Wiseman, Gypsy Taylor, Yolanda Clerke, Sian Rees, Kim Strobl
[Passion Pictures Australia, Screen Australia, Madman, Passion Pictures]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.